Holyrood rocks!

Holyrood rocks pic blog

Hi, I’m Amy Louise Rogers, I am a 16 year old singer songwriter from Dunfermline. On Saturday 24th September I earned the title of Fife and Mid Scotland finalist of Holyrood Rocks – an initiative to raise awareness of the new right for 16 and 17 year olds to register and cast their vote whilst also encouraging young people to explore music.

The heat was held at the Glen Pavilion in Dunfermline – a venue that is a very important part of Dunfermline’s community and it was an honour to finally play the stage! Also playing at the event were two other local acts – Campbell’s Wild and Misha Sutherland and it was great talking to them about their views on Dunfermline’s constantly growing music scene! I am very humbled to have earned a place as a finalist, as both acts are very talented musicians and surely will go far!

As a young musician (I have only been gigging since February) my first gig was at the now closed down, Abbot House – a venue that still remains at the heart of Dunfermline’s heritage. That gig was in fact one of many fundraising gigs I was part of to help save the building however it was sadly closed this August due to a lack of funding. However, this great building kick-started my music career and helped me meet Charlotte Johnson, who has always pushed me forwards in gigging, and Donald J Makin, a Saturday night presenter of Radio West Fife and the co-founder of Lazy Sunday Afternoons, both of which have opened so many opportunities for me as a young musician, such as playing the famous Edinburgh Fringe Festival this summer! I have also recently released my debut album “Her Imagination” a complete self-financed and self-produced album that is now available on iTunes and Spotify!

I never realised how easy it would have been to register to vote – I always presumed it was a long, lengthy process. However, after seeing a post on Facebook claiming how quick it was to do – I put it to the test! I quickly discovered it was a very simple, quick process that you can do online at https://www.gov.uk/register-to-vote. I received an email confirmation back in minutes and follow up paper work back within a week! Soon all of my friends were signing up to register to vote so we can play a part in our country’s future!

I am very much looking forward to the final of Holyrood Rocks on the 31st October and the events and workshops throughout the day! The Electoral Commission, who’ve supported this event since the first regional heat, will be at the grand final at the Scottish Parliament on Saturday running a stand. They’ll be able to help you register and answer any questions that you may have.

Amy Louise
You can find out more about me on Facebook or on my Twitter @ukualoulou

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

