‘7 May is doubly important for me: it’s both the election and my 18th birthday’

This year on the 7th of May 2015 is the UK General Election; something that I’m sure by now has been hard to miss with all the election debates, posters and political party broadcasts that have scattered the country in the past few weeks. However the 7th of May is a doubly important day for me as not only is it the General election but also my 18th birthday, making me part of a handful of the youngest voters in the country.

On hearing that I would definitely be eligible to vote I leaped at the chance to register. The registration process was much simpler than I thought- I was able to do it online, in the space of about 10 minutes, without any adult checking over my shoulder to make sure I did it correctly- you can’t go wrong.

At the moment I am definitely more excited about the prospect of voting than my actual birthday! The fact that I am one of the youngest eligible voters makes me feel even more privileged that I have been given this opportunity to vote. On the 7th of May I will be going to my local polling station straight after school to vote. Having been with my dad to vote before the thought of the polling station does not make me nervous but the amount of responsibility I have been given does. Despite the fact that I will have just turned 18 and I am still in school, my vote is worth the same as everyone else’s in the country. It is for this reason why I think that it is so important that everyone, especially young voters, makes the effort to register and vote in this general election.

My message to all 18 year olds is that we live somewhere that we are able to have a say in the running of our country which is a freedom not all young people have, so exercising that right should not be missed. I feel it is our duty to cast our vote, and to do that we must be registered. Register now at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

Talia Pins, Student

This entry was posted in #yourvotematters, Electoral Registration, UKPGE 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

