Two new Electoral Commissioners approved

Polling station

Alasdair Morgan, a former SNP MP and MSP; and Bridget Prentice, a former Labour MP and Minister have been approved as new Commissioners for the Electoral Commission.

The UK Parliament approved a motion to appoint Mr Morgan and Ms Prentice, following a selection process overseen by the Speaker’s Committee on the Electoral Commission. The motion passed by the House of Commons presents the new Commissioners for appointment by Her Majesty the Queen. It is anticipated that both Mr Morgan and Ms Prentice will begin their terms of office in April 2014.

Mr Morgan replaces the Right Honourable Sir George Reid who stepped down due to ill health. Mr Morgan was proposed by the SNP and his nomination was supported by Plaid Cymru.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s